From your President

Unlawful Denial of Service Policies

for Utility Customers in Arrears

December 12, 2016

Attention Welfare Administrators and Officials,

I was sent an email message below from Dennis Labbe Esq. from NH Legal Aid:

Dear New Hampshire Electric Utility Consumer Service / Credit and Collections Managers:

Attached please find a letter that New Hampshire Legal Assistance (NHLA) is mailing out today regarding an unlawful denial of service policy for residential customers with outstanding arrears seeking service at a new location.

As most of the recipients of this letter/e-mail are aware, NHLA is a statewide non-profit law firm that represents the interests of low-income families and seniors in NH free of charge in civil matters, including advocacy in the realms of energy and utility policy.

Please provide any response(s) to this correspondence to either myself and/or to my colleague, NHLA staff attorney Stephen Tower (

Thank you in advance for your attention to this letter.

Dennis Labbe, Esq.
Director, Energy and Utility Justice Project
New Hampshire Legal Assistance
154 High Street
Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone: (603) 261-2850
Fax: (603) 431-8025